If you would like to be on the New Jersey Court Roster for Divorce Mediation, and if you took a 40-hour divorce mediation class in state other than New Jersey,
If you would like to be on the New Jersey Court Roster for Divorce Mediation, and if you took a 40-hour divorce mediation class in state other than New Jersey, or a 40 hour class in New Jersey more than 5 years ago, please consider signing up for NJAPM’s new 6-hour class which would satisfy your training requirement for the roster. The class is also helpful for people who took a 40-hour New Jersey divorce mediation class less than five years ago and are looking for a refresher class on New Jersey family law. If you are already on the roster, you can also take the class to meet meets the annual CE requirement.
NJ Rule 1:40 was recently amended to allow for an approved 6-hour class for applicants to the NJ Administrative Office of the Courts divorce roster who have been trained in a 40-hour out-of-state mediation training or who took the 40-hour New Jersey mediation training more than five years prior to applying to the roster. The courses shall include, but are not limited to, training in facilitative methods, case management techniques, procedural requirements for an enforceable mediated settlement, NJ Rules and mediator ethics, Guidelines for Mediator Compensation, the Uniform Mediation Act and mediation case law. Here is the link to the program http://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/family/rosters/index.html .
New Jersey Association of Professional Mediator’s new 6-Hour divorce class will fulfill the above requirement, and can also meet the AOC’s 4-hour annual CE requirement for those already on the roster. Our class includes a review of New Jersey family law including child support guidelines, NJ’s alimony and equitable distribution statutes. The class provides 7.2 NJ CLE including 1 ethics credit, and also provides 6 continuing education credits for NJAPM mediators.
This class will be held on Thursday, May 25 at the Rutgers Labor Law Center in New Brunswick from 9:00 AM to 4:30 PM and includes breakfast and lunch. The cost is $335. The center is located at Exit 9 off the New Jersey Turnpike and is also accessible via New Jersey transit train service. Dress is business casual or business – it’s during the week!
The instructors for the class are both roster members, and leading New Jersey mediation practitioners: Carl Cangelosi, JD, APM; and Anju Jessani, MBA, APM. The class is limited to 24 students. The only prerequisite for this class is that you must have taken a 40-hour divorce mediation training.
For more information or to register, please click this link http://www.njapm.org/content/may-25-6-hour-supplement-40-hour-divorce-mediation-training or visit the NJAPM website, www.njapm.org
(Thursday) 9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Rutgers Labor Law Center
50 Labor Center Way, New Brunswick, NJ
New Jersey Association of Professional MediatorsAnju D. Jessani